I am a serial blog abandoner.  I have started blogs and left them after my great idea fizzled out.  I started writing in 2007 about my son’s visits to me on Monday nights.  He was working in a really great 4 star restaurant and would bring little bits of it over on Monday nights, his day off.  We would cook, connect.  It was always something incredibly wonderful.  Truffle risotto.  Spanish Mackerel. Copper River Salmon. Funky salts.  I fed off his enthusiasm.  He cooked like he was at work, so the stove was ripping hot….much hotter than a house stove ought to work.  It would fill the house with smoke and tiny drops of oil would fly into other rooms.  I hope my neighbors could smell it and I hope they were wondering just what was going on.  My 4 oldest children were all embarking on adulthood.  Little did I know, I was going to meet my 2 biological brothers.  We had all been given to adoption, one at a time, without knowledge the other existed.  I had endured a major health crisis with my son and Ewings Sarcoma.  I had learned to adapt to my disabled daughter’s needs.  I lost my mom to a brain tumor.  Everything was a big deal.  It always left me thinking about the bigger picture and writing is the only cure.  My blog had a great title and I was writing. Relatively Cooking.  And then something changed.  I abandoned it.  Something in my head is always assembling the day as I saw it into a written piece.  Some people hear music in their minds or paint canvases.   I narrate and report life around me.  I was so pleased to see Blogher’s NaBloPoMo and really am hoping I can break this habit I have of abandoning my writing.  I do have a story to tell.  You’re not going to believe some of it.  Trust me, you couldn’t make this stuff up.

About kat9090

Hafu (Half Japanese), Late Discovery Adoptee, Sister, Mom, Daughter, Wife, I cook, look back, look forward, lean left, drive a lot, write a lot, wish a lot, I will be square with you if you are square with me. Find me on Instagram @shojikat and Twitter @biteme9090
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

