Japanese Maple Acer palmatum Autumn Tree 3008px

Japanese Maple Acer palmatum Autumn Tree 3008px (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

NaBloPoMo asks me today Dolly Parton said: “Storms make trees take deeper roots.” Agree or disagree?

I couldn’t disagree more.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love Dolly and I appreciate the odds she came up with.  I just think there are a lot of different kinds of trees.  Some have shallow roots, some deep.  Some live for centuries, some are bred for aesthetics and will blow over if a kid bikes by too quickly.

I’m one of those trees, not necessarily sturdy, but with a beautiful grained trunk.  The kind of tree that makes a gorgeous mantel.  The kind of mantel you can’t help but walk across the room and and run your hand along the edge of.  The kind of edge that will hold Christmas stockings and well earned awards.

About kat9090

Hafu (Half Japanese), Late Discovery Adoptee, Sister, Mom, Daughter, Wife, I cook, look back, look forward, lean left, drive a lot, write a lot, wish a lot, I will be square with you if you are square with me. Find me on Instagram @shojikat and Twitter @biteme9090
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

