Passion smacked me in the face today

“Your passion is that thing people are curious about. 
If you aren’t sure, listen to the folks you interact with regularly.
When someone asks , its because you are are dripping your passion on the floor. 
They can’t help it either.
Live your passion and be happy. 
Be happy and you can live your passion.”   -me. 

 

Today, as I do everyday, I dropped my daughter off at her ‘camp’ for 4 hours of fun for her and 4 hours of much needed solitude for me.  I am free to do whatever.  Sometimes, it is just that…..whatever.   I usually have short hello and have fun exchanges with the staff.  My daughter is 12 and is completely dependent on the staff at any program she may attend. She is bound to a wheelchair for mobility and requires hygiene care.  She has to be fed. She can’t express her wants or needs verbally, so anyone helping her must also be telepathic.  Or at least, very kind.   

I pack her lunch everyday.  Most days, it is leftovers from the night before.  We found some really cute Bento boxes and it really does help to decide what to pack.  You just fill up small spaces with little bits.  Any attempt at being artistic is kind of lost on my daughter.  If she’s just hungry, she’s not interested in designs that have been penned on her napkin or the arrangement of red pepper strips on her entree.  Shoveling it in the name of the game.  I do pack it with enough care.  After all, it is fuel for her little body and she needs good stuff. She has cerebral palsy and that can burn calories like a marathoner all by itself.    

Today, the nurse asked if I was a chef.   

OK, well …I have worked in a commercial kitchen.  Does it show?   

If I wondered aloud recently about passion and direction and the meaning of life, I just got my answer.   You probably ARE what people think you are.   Image

About kat9090

Hafu (Half Japanese), Late Discovery Adoptee, Sister, Mom, Daughter, Wife, I cook, look back, look forward, lean left, drive a lot, write a lot, wish a lot, I will be square with you if you are square with me. Find me on Instagram @shojikat and Twitter @biteme9090
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

