Merry Christmas from the Floral guy at Safeway

I am always hopeful that I will cross paths with something or someone who restores my faith in humanity. It’s not the big things that make that happen, it’s the little things.
Last night, I ran over the the Safeway on the corner for the makings of grilled cheese sandwiches to go with the ginger carrot soup. I walked in, grabbed a basket and promised I would not weigh it down with things I didn’t need. Then I saw the poinsettias. A huge ring of them in graduating heights. The ones that would fit in my carry basket, just a few dollars. The color is soft and orangey, blushy if you will. It stood out in contrast to the red ones with the green foiled papers on them. I whisked it away, promised myself it left just enough room for bread, cheese and wine and I could still get out of the store through the express lane.
As it rolled to the cashier, I noticed it had a broken branch. It was withering…I don’t think I was to blame. The employee at the end of the counter happened to be the floral manager and he told me to go back and just pick out a new one. There was only one other in that color, so……
And the guy appeared behind me. “You really like that color, I can tell.” I guess I did. He pointed out the dark spot on a leaf…”It shows that it has been exposed to freezing temperatures, it really shouldn’t be out here and it won’t last long.” He handed me red one. “Take this one, too.” He removed the sticker for inventory. “I don’t want you to be disappointed. I want you to have a Merry Christmas.”

About kat9090

Hafu (Half Japanese), Late Discovery Adoptee, Sister, Mom, Daughter, Wife, I cook, look back, look forward, lean left, drive a lot, write a lot, wish a lot, I will be square with you if you are square with me. Find me on Instagram @shojikat and Twitter @biteme9090
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

