Breakfast on the Bed

The daily grind in my house, in my life is that I am somehow in charge of what I eat and what others eat.  Four of our five children have grown and gone.  I am no longer making meals that must stretch to feed the household plus visitors and leave a few lunches and late night snacks.  We have been able to enjoy some exquisite elements in our diet while still picking up a pizza now and then.  

The oldest is in a transition, moving himself, his household and 5 dogs across country to establish some work and experience life with his brother.  He’s here, in our house for a little while, waiting for property to settle. This one is  Cordon Bleu culinary trained and while you might catch him eating hot dogs from Circle K, if he cooks for you, you know two things.  One, you know he doesn’t expend the energy to make a meal on someone who won’t appreciate it….either for the time and effort or for the parts that have come together, in a symphony of sorts.

There is something wonderful about that 6 year old that brings you a not-quite-right  cup of coffee and a limp piece of toast or his favorite cereal with marshmallows floating in it.  You are gracious and full of those feelings of love that this little person has gone to the trouble of expressing a basic need, while you haven’t climbed out of the sheets. 

Today, before I had left the mess of blanket and sheets came a hot cup of coffee with half and half and this hot plate.  Eggs Benedict.  No cheating, no corners cut.  I had heard whisking while husband was still snoring.  I elbowed him and said, “Do you hear that?”  “What”, he said.  “That. That’s whisking.  OMG.  Hollandaise.”   He ran to the shower.  I stood (laid) my ground in bed, thinking about how little effort I would have to whisk hollandaise.  And poach eggs. And toast English muffins.   And that is exactly what arrived.  A tap at the door.  A nearly 30 yr old (wasn’t he just 6 not too long ago?), a cup of coffee and a warm plate covered in velvety sauce.  Kitty Pants, the cat, recognized the lottery win that this was and marked it with her approval before I could adjust myself upright. 

Perfectly composed. Served with kindness. And he always cleans up after himself.  

It’s gonna be a good day. 

About kat9090

Hafu (Half Japanese), Late Discovery Adoptee, Sister, Mom, Daughter, Wife, I cook, look back, look forward, lean left, drive a lot, write a lot, wish a lot, I will be square with you if you are square with me. Find me on Instagram @shojikat and Twitter @biteme9090
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

