In the Still

Just be still.
Just lie there.
Think of nothing.
Ignore the thumping of the earth,
can I?
Tune out the cries of my history.
Calm the pounding that courses through my bones.
Sent from where?
By who?
But why?
Why must I hear songs from people long turned to dust?
How do I reign the prescription for peace, quiet?

No, there is no still.
The thumping keeps time with my heart.
The songs tell me how to get through this place,
how to find the light, the clear waters.
There’s no time for peace, no use for quiet.
I will have time to lie still when I have left my skin and bones behind.

About kat9090

Hafu (Half Japanese), Late Discovery Adoptee, Sister, Mom, Daughter, Wife, I cook, look back, look forward, lean left, drive a lot, write a lot, wish a lot, I will be square with you if you are square with me. Find me on Instagram @shojikat and Twitter @biteme9090
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

