My Mennonite in the Desert

0314091248

About kat9090

Hafu (Half Japanese), Late Discovery Adoptee, Sister, Mom, Daughter, Wife, I cook, look back, look forward, lean left, drive a lot, write a lot, wish a lot, I will be square with you if you are square with me. Find me on Instagram @shojikat and Twitter @biteme9090
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Mennonite in the Desert

  1. kat9090 says:

    The text to accompany this photo disappeared when I published. It was 90 minutes of writing. I can’t replicate what I wrote, I was walking through emotions and memories of our neighbor, Herman (a Mennonite, widowed of Muriel who lived with MS.) He was her caregiver. He understood the business of caring for someone. I learned a lot from him about a lot of things, but most importantly, I saw the outcome of maintaining someone’s dignity when there is care to be done. I’ll write again about one of these days.

  2. kat9090 says:

    The rest of my thoughts…….
    :Writing always brings me around to the same spot on the curb. I sit and pound away (I learned on an old Royal) without looking up. I don’t piece it into little parts and mull over words. I just start with a thought and a feeling and whack away until it’s done. Each time, it’s real and raw. Kind of like making a dish from scraps in the refrigerator. When you’re done, you can maybe describe it, but it’s not possible to recreate it. You’d have to be at the same place in time, looking at a withering potato and a handful of this and that sitting next to leftovers from some other kitchen event. Once it’s done, it’s done and if it disappears before anyone else every wrote it, I’ve also run through the emotional steeple chase that got to me to the last period. If you know of the things I write, maybe you will believe me when I say I am often writing through tears and living something most people wouldn’t dare revisit.:

Leave a Reply

